Wednesday, January 30, 2013

CWE@USF Becomes an Omicron Tau Theta Chapter

Dr. Steve McCaskey (President), Dr. Johanna Lasonen, Dr. Elaine Adams
(National Advisor), Dr. Eddie Fletcher, and Daniel Cox.
Atlanta, November 28, 2012. Omicron Tau Theta (OTT), the premier professional honorary graduate society in career and technical education, approved the creation of a new OTT chapter at the University of South Florida. Dr. Johanna Lasonen prepared and successfully submitted an application for a new chapter to be recognized as Alpha Gamma beginning in 2013. The approval of the CWE@USF Alpha Gamma Chapter was announced at the annual meeting of the OTT National Board meeting held concurrently with the national conference of the American Association for Career and Technical Education.

Established by Dr. Anthony G. Porreca in 1976 at the University of Tennessee, the goal of OTT was to acknowledge the achievement of graduate students, professional educators, business leaders, and industry and government partners in career and technical education. In particular, to encourage and disseminate research in vocational and technical education, OTT sponsors the Journal of Career and Technical Education (JCTE), published twice annually in electronic form.

CWE@USF joins nine active OTT chapters representing quality graduate programs in the field.